The Ginetta Celebrity Karting Challenge

Is back for 2012

Racing4charity is pleased to announce that Ginetta has become the official title sponsor for the Celebrity Karting Challenge, to be held at the Autosport International Show on 12th January 2012.

The Celebrity Karting Challenge is organised in honour of Race2Recovery, a national charity which aims to rehabilitate injured British servicemen and women by supporting soldiers in a series of motorsports events. Ben Collins instigated our involvement and has announced today, Monday 9th Jan, that he will join the Race2Recovery team led by Alexander Sims. 

The generous sponsorship package, which has been brokered by joint organisers Race Drivers Inc., means the event will now become 'The Ginetta Celebrity Karting Challenge'. Managing Director of Race Drivers Inc., Baz Scott, who facilitated the deal said 'Its absolutely fantastic news, the support offered by one of the UK's best loved motorsport names, Ginetta, provides a synergy that would have been hard to match anywhere else'.

Head of Ginetta Sales and 4 x Super 1 British Karting Champion; Mike Simpson comments 'Ginetta sponsoring the celebrity karting challenge is a perfect synergy. 80% of the drivers that make up the Ginetta Junior grid have progressed from karting. We make sure we keep a close eye on future Ginetta stars that may rise through karting and we were the proud sponsors of the 2011 Super 1 Karting Series.

20 teams will compete in the 1.5 hour endurance race with each team made up of four celebrities and two members of the public. Confirmed celebrities taking part include 2009 Le Mans winner David Brabham and triple World Touring Car Champion Andy Priaulx, BTCC stars Gordon Shedden, Andy Neate and Boyzone star turned-pro-driver, Shane Lynch.

Ginetta Chairman and 2006 Le Mans winner Lawrence Tomlinson will head up the first of two Ginetta teams competing. Tomlinson will race alongside the 2011 Ginetta G55 Supercup Champion Adam Morgan. The second Ginetta team will be led by 4x Super 1 British Karting Champion and 7x British Karting Grand Prix Champion Mike Simpson who will be joined by BTCC Star, Andrew Jordan.

Beamed around Europe, courtesy of MotorsTV, the race will be started by current World Land Speed Record Holder; Wing Commander Andy Green OBE - It will be preceded by a showcase of injured soldiers racing in specially adapted karts on loan from Carolynn Hoy.

Bill Williams of Racing4charity, the main organiser comments 'Events like this rely on the generosity and support of the industry. To have a name like Ginetta associated with the event means that this year's charity, Race2Recovery, will not only leave with great memories, but also a decent amount of cash to continue their endeavours'.

One of the founding members of Race2Recovery, Captain Anthony Harris adds 'For us it's fantastic to be working with such an amazing racing car manufacturer. For them to be supporting us throughout this competition is just mind blowing. As always, we are genuinely so very grateful for the support we have received. We could not have gotton to where we are today without the support of the public. It never fails to amaze me how generous people have been.'

Race2Recovery aims to conquer something that hasn't been tackled before, they pride themselves on allowing injured soldiers to prove to themselves that they can not only do 'normal' things, but also push themselves within the world of motorsport, to be the very best they can be.   

Racing4charity is also pleased to announce that one of our sponsors for the 2012 event is Pierrot Design, we would like to thank Stewart Hutchinson and his colleagues for their donation and sponsor package. Please see for further details.

We would also like to thank for their generous support by sponsoring the Grid Girls and for providing the Girls.


1st Team UK 176 laps

2nd Motorsport News 176 laps (29.05 sec)

3rd Sky's the Limit 175 laps

4th The Doyleys 173 laps

5th The Loose Cannons 173 laps

6th Race Drivers Inc. 172 laps

7th Ferrari GT 172 laps

8th Team Aston Martin 171 laps

9th The Rockets 171 laps

10th Tin Tops 170 laps

11th Race2recovery 170 laps

12th Racing4charity 170 laps

13th Team Ginetta #1 170 laps

14th Jade's All Stars 169 laps

15th Pierrot Design 166 laps

16th Team Ginetta #2 166 laps

17th Team WD40 165 laps

18th Japspeed 164 laps

19th Billy's Bashers 164 laps

20th The Singles 159 laps

21st Brabham's All Stars* 153 laps

*Team 4 had to leave early due to a certain dinner booking!!  


TEAMS for 2012 with public/guest drivers.

1. Team Ginetta #1

Lawrence Tomlinson, Adam Morgan, George Gamble, Josh Wakefield, Ryan Lindsay, Rossi.

2. Team Ginetta #2

Mike Simpson, Tom Ingram, Max Coates, Andrew Jordan, Richard Topley, Lee Bourner.

3. Pierrot Design

Stewart Hutchinson, Annalese Ferrari, Alex Albon, Chris Rogers, James Singleton, Nigel Spawton.

4. Brabham's All Stars

David Brabham, Sam Brabham, Amanda Stretton, Andy Priaulx, Richard Le Tocq, Lewis Goodearl.

5. Team UK.

Alex Lynn, Will Buller, Johnny Mowlem, Ollie Webb, Jon Lancaster, Jack Monkhouse.

6. The Loose Cannons

Duncan Tappy, Riki Christodoulou, Will Stevens, Sam Bird, Dave Fry, Alex Roache.

7. Race Drivers Inc.

Baz Scott, Tiffany Chittenden, Ollie Milroy, Chris Dymond, James Littlejohn, Jonny Walker.

8. Japspeed

Shane Lynch, David Goupe, Paul Smith, Shane O'Sullivan, Gideon Williams, Sarah Budby.

9. Team Aston Martin

Andy Meyrick, Darren Turner, James Appleby, Ant Scagg, Graham Field, Steve Madkin.

10. Sky's the Limit

Dean Smith, Felipe Nasr, Daniel Lloyd, Alice Powell, Adrian Quiafe-Hobbs, Scott Sheldon.

11. Race2Recovery

Alexander Sims, Ben Collins, Zoe Wenham, Abbie Eaton, Soldier 1, Soldier 2. 

12. Tin Tops

Gordon Shedden, Andy Neate, Ali Rushforth, Dave Newsham, Nick Underwood, Neb Bursac.

13. The Singles

Laura Tillett, Richard Evans, Joseph Reilly, Dan Wells, Chris Prey, Marc Waller.

14. Ferrari GT

Mick Lyons, Paul Rees, Allen Simonsen, Glynn Geddie, Mark Garrett, Peter Schofield.

15. Racing4charity

Salvo Cachia, Adam Christodoulou, Mark Litchfield, Andy King, Pete Ellis, Johnny Spencer.

16. Team WD40

Phil Glew, Jade Edwards, Jack Goff, Shaun Hollamby, Matthew Shaw, James Riley.

17. The Doylebys 

Brad Philpott, Craig Dolby, Micky Doyle, Ramon Pineiro, Dino Zamparelli, Alan Frazer.

18. Motorsport News

Sean Babington, Ed Brand, Jordan Chamberlain, Jordon Lennox-Lamb, Tom Joyner, Jack Barlow.

19. The Rockets

Alex MacDowell, Seb Morris, Paul Rivett, Josh Webster, John Stynes, Pater Craig.

20. Jade's All Stars

Jade Paveley, Nick Kishor, James Hassel, David Baldwin, Aaron Steele, Adam Saunders.

21. Billy's Bashers.

Bill Williams, Scott Malvern, Emil Berstoff, Tom Blomqvist, Kieran Salmons, Mark Copeland


We are now taking bookings for the 2013 event, please email


Autosport International will be open to the public on Saturday 14 to Sunday 15 January 2012. BRDC members can obtain a free tickets to the show. To purchase tickets visit or call 0044 (0) 844 581 1420. Adult tickets start at £30 per day with children’s tickets costing £19.50.





This website has been created and is maintained by Stack ‘m High Ltd please feel free to visit any of Stack ‘m High’s websites.